Crock-Pot Cookin’ Rice Puddin’

Last night, I asked my roommates if they had ever tried rice pudding. Their response? “What’s that?”

Now, for me at least, rice pudding was a dessert staple throughout my childhood. Often times, when we had rice for dinner (and some nights when we didn’t), my mom would make rice pudding with the leftovers. No, I have never asked for her recipe, but I did base my own on what I remember.

I am an avid Crock-Pot cooker, although I use it mostly for meats. I had read about sweet sauces and puddings made in the Crock-Pot, so why not rice pudding? Simply toss all of the ingredients in and let it sit. Easy!

Crock-Pot Rice Pudding

Ingredients…

3/4 C Rice, rinsed

3 C Fat Free Milk

1/2 C White Sugar

1 1/2 Tsp Cinnamon (adjust to taste)

1/2 Tsp Pure Vanilla Extract

1/3 C Unsalted Butter, melted

Pour rice, milk, sugar, cinnamon, and vanilla into Crock-Pot. Stir, then pour melted butter over top.

Cook on HIGH for 2 1/2 to 3 hours, until no moisture remains.

Serves 4-6

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

