The Sweet Town of Leavenworth, Washington


Recently, I had the opportunity to visit the cute town of Leavenworth, Washington. Yes, I had done my research before the journey, but the sweetness I found there far surpassed any expectations I had. This little tourist town is simply lined with bakeries, fudge shops, candy stores, and ice cream shops. As I walked along the streets, I stopped at each bakery I came to, and yes, I did sample something from every single one.

My first stop, Bakery Creations, didn’t necessarily cater their goods to a specific crowd. Their offerings were full of variety, from cupcakes to cookies to Danishes, and even fudge.

I managed to decide on two things, a Red Velvet Cupcakes, and a Raspberry Danish Pinwheel. I seem to have issues with passing up a red velvet cupcake  anytime I see one, but in this case, that habit it was a very good thing. The cake was messy, but in a good way. The cake was rich with flavor, moist, and very good. The icing wasn’t the traditional cream cheese icing paired with Red Velvet Cupcakes. It was sweet, creamy, and had a hint of cream cheese, but not enough, in my opinion. The icing definitely wasn’t bad; the cupcake was delicious, but it was certainly a different taste than the usual.

Next, the Raspberry Danish Pinwheel, made the hour long drive to Leavenworth well worth it. This was the epitome of great pastry, crispy, light and flaky, and full of buttery flavor! In the center of the pastry was a pool of raspberry jam; an incredibly sweet addition to the pastry. Topped with powdered sugar, this was absolutely Danish heaven.

The next stop, The Danish Bakery, was filled with pretzels and pastries and other sweet treats. Known for their giant pretzels, I knew I had come to the right place. I tried a pretzel, a great, soft, doughy treat, which far surpassed my expectations. I also tried a cream horn, which consisted of a flaky, rolled pastry which had been rolled in sugar crystals and filled with sweet cream filling. The filling was so flavorful and creamy, and topped off with chocolate sprinkles at each end.

Lastly, my favorite place of all, we visited The Gingerbread House. This place was absolutely adorable, with a gingerbread mail box, and a rolling pin built into the door. As you walk inside, and ginger, cinnamon, and nutmeg fills your nose, and you can see the bakers working in the kitchen. This small shop offers customers a view from “behind the scenes” as the mixers, counters, and ovens, are right behind the display case.

Their cookies, gingerbread and sugar, are incredibly cute. Each is decorated individually with various colors, in shapes such as maple leaves, reindeer, trains, and skates. Overall, I would consider Leavenworth to be an oasis of sweets. This isn’t a town many would live in, but the visits sure are tasty! If you ever have a chance, please, get in your car (or fly) and visit this tasty little town.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

