Molasses Men

I’ll be completely honest…I do not like ginger. Therefore, I do not like gingerbread men. And therefore, sadly, as a child, I never got into the ‘building gingerbread houses’ fad…or the ‘bite the head off first’ fad. However, now that I have “grown up”  I thought it may be time to give those little guys a chance once more. I still can’t succumb to the ever-popular name, so I chose to call my cookies Molasses Men.

You can use this recipe to make round molasses cookies, or refrigerate the dough, roll it, and cut out fun shapes. I’ll leave that up to you.

Molasses Men

3/4 C Butter, Softened

1/2 C Brown Sugar

1 Egg

1/2 Tsp Pure Vanilla Extract

3/4 C Molasses (I used Black Strap, which is very strong)

2 1/2 C Flour

2 Tsp Baking Soda

1 Tsp Cinnamon

1/4 Tsp Ground Ginger

Cream the butter and sugar. Add the egg and beat well. Add the vanilla and molasses, and continue beating.

Combine the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and ginger in a separate bowl.

Gradually add the flour mixture to the butter mixture, forming a soft dough.

Collect the dough to form a large ball. Put the dough in a new bowl, and refrigerate for a 1/2 hour.

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

After preparing a floured work surface, roll the dough about 1/4 inch thick.

Use your favorite cookie cutters to create shapes.

Place your cookies on a greased cookie sheet and bake for 8-10 minutes.

To ice:

Combine softened butter, powdered sugar, and a bit of milk to form your desired consistency, and decorate as you please!

This entry was posted in Cookies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Molasses Men

  1. Pingback: A Christmas Treat « CAKE for your icing

Leave a Reply

