White Citrus Cupcakes

I’ve done it! After years of trying, I’ve finally made a white cake, successfully.

Yes, I know, this doesn’t seem like a tremendous feat, but for me…it sure is!

After years of honing my baking skills, trying things out, developing recipes, I still had yet to bake a white cake from scratch. Chocolate cake? Yes. Carrot cake and Red Velvet? You bet. But I have never pulled a white cake out of the oven, and was able to look at it and smile.

Now, the issue may have been the recipe, or it may have just been me.  I suppose we’ll never know.

However, that has all changed now! I recently was able to successfully make a white cake batter, add a bit of orange extract and grated lemon peel, use it for cupcakes, ice the cupcakes, AND EAT THEM with a satisfying smile on my face.

So, here you have it. Apparently the secret to my success. Aren’t you feeling lucky that I’m sharing it with you?

White Citrus Cupcakes

3/4 C Butter, softened

1 1/2 C Sugar

2 C Flour

2 Tsp Baking Powder

1/4 Tsp Salt

6 Egg Whites

3/4 C Milk

2 Tsp Pure Orange Extract

1 Tsp Dried Lemon Peel

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Beat the butter and sugar until fluffy, about 5 minutes. Combine flour, baking powder and salt in a separate bowl. Combine egg whites, milk, and orange extract in another separate bowl. Add 1/3 of the flour mixture to the butter mixture, then add half of the milk mixture. Add another 1/3 of the flour mixture, then the remaining milk mixture, and finish with the remaining flour mixture. Gradually beat in between each addition.

Once combined, pour the batter into a greased pan of your choice. Bake for 25-30 minutes, until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.

Top with your favorite icing.

This entry was posted in Cake, Cupcakes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

