CakeSpy Trip

In case you haven’t heard, I recently won a contest. A really cool contest.

One of my favorite bloggers, CakeSpy, in partnership with Sasquatch Books, hosted the ‘So you wanna be a CakeSpy’ Contest. Once I heard of the contest, after I finished screaming with joy, I set out on a mission to, well, create the most magical dessert ever.

I succeeded when I created my Neapolitan Blondie Bars.

I won first place. The prize? An all-expenses paid trip to Seattle, and basically eternal sweet glory. Yeah, it’s that cool.

Recently I took my trip to Seattle, met up with Jessie Oleson of CakeSpy, went bakery hopping, met Joy the Baker, and ate about 20 pounds of cake. Talk about a dream come true.

We visited a total of 6 sweet spots, including bakeries, cupcake shops, and even gelato! I’ll be telling you all about those individual spots soon.

For now, look at the sort of magic that ensued.

First, we visited Nielsen’s Pastries so we could grab a potato. A sweet potato. A pastry puff filled with custard and whip cream, then topped with marzipan and cocoa powder.

Then we made our way to Pinkabella Cupcakes, where we and our ponies ate a few delicious cupcakes. The ponies copped out halfway through, but we sure didn’t.

Next, we visited Trophy Cupcakes, where I was greeted and pleasantly surprised by their Neapolitan Cupcake.

Then on to D’Ambrosio for Gelato. I ate coconut gelato, which, I must say, was a genius choice on my part.

Then, on to West Seattle’s Bakery Nouveau to pick up a sandwich, croissant, and other sweet treats. A pastry drive-by, if you will.

Next, we made our way to CakeSpy shop in Capitol Hill, where, you know, Joy Wilson from Joy the Baker was hanging out.

The three of us chatted, after the masses had lined up for Joy’s signature. Oh, and then we took some photos, because we looked so good together.

Our last stop, Cupcake Royale, proved to be full of butter. This was their stash in the bakery kitchen. Probably only what they needed softened right then. Not too much.

We ate a few cupcakes including Pistachio Lemon, Red Velvet, and Tiramisu.

And then, we came to terms with who we are. We are delicious, devoted lovers to all things sweet.

To find out more about my Neapolitan Blondie Bars, visit CakeSpy.

And to Jessie, thank you from the bottom of my heart. Spending the day together, sharing our love of sweets, was more than I could ever ask for.

This entry was posted in Bakeries and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to CakeSpy Trip

  1. Pingback: Butterfinger Cookies «

  2. Pingback: A Trip to Nielson’s Pastries, Seattle «

  3. Pingback: Neapolitan Magic Cake «

  4. Pingback: Guest Post: Lemon-Raspberry Oatmeal Cookies by CAKE for your icing | The Spiffy Cookie

Leave a Reply

