A Trip to Nielson’s Pastries, Seattle

Recently, on a prize-winning trip to Seattle, I went to a delicious place called Nielson’s Pastries. Nielson’s is a cute little bakery and coffee shop. It’s been going strong since 1965, and on my visit, I certainly found out why.

The array of delicious, somewhat old fashioned, treats was outstanding. I had a very difficult time choosing.  There were danishes, rolls, and pastries abound.

I eventually decided. I certainly did not just settle. I chose an apple cinnamon roll, and boy, was I glad! This pastry was so sweet and flavorful. It was such a delight! A buttery pastry dough filled with cinnamon, sugar, and sweet apples was just what the doctor ordered.

I also ate one of their most popular desserts simply named The Potato. The Potato is a genius treat. It’s a puff pastry, filled with a mixture of custard and whipped cream, then topped with Nielson’s marzipan and dusted with cocoa powder. I was honestly and pleasantly surprised at how delicious I found this unique treat! The puff pastry was light and flaky, while the custard and whipped cream blended perfectly. Very well done, Nielson’s!

This entry was posted in Bakeries and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

