Brown Sugar Cupcakes with Real Maple Syrup Icing

Maple syrup is a staple in my diet. I know, as cliché as that sounds, it’s true. I grew up visiting stores nestled among maple trees, tasting each batch of maple syrup ranging from dark to light. I brought maple syrup buckets and spiles for show and tell at school. I grew up eating maple sugar candy, trying to coax all of my friends to try it as well.

I get my maple syrup from where I was born in Ontario, Canada. Each time I visit, I go to my favorite spot in Campbellford, Curle’s Maple, and take a bit home. These cupcakes were made to celebrate the love that I have for maple syrup. They celebrate the sweet, humbling flavor of a treat I have always loved and continue to incorporate into as many things as I can.

These cupcakes are made with a simple batter, using brown sugar as a base. This creates somewhat of a gingerbread cupcake, and topping it off with icing made with real maple syrup makes it all the more satisfying.

Brown Sugar Cupcakes

1 1/4 C Brown Sugar

1 Egg

1 Tsp Vanilla

1/2 C Milk

1/2 C Butter, melted

1 1/2 C Flour

1 1/2 Tsp Baking Soda

1/4 Tsp Salt

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Beat the brown sugar and egg on low, then add the vanilla and milk and continue to beat. Slowly mix in the melted butter. In a separate bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, and salt. Gradually add the flour mixtures to the sugar mixture and beat until a batter forms.

Scoop by 1/4 cups into a greased or lined cupcake pan. Bake for 18-20 minutes, until your cupcakes are slightly dark brown.

Real Maple Syrup Icing

1/2 C Butter

2- 2 1/2 Cups Powdered Sugar

1/2 C Real Maple Syrup

1 Tbsp Milk

Beat the butter and a 1/2 cup of the powdered sugar. Add the maple syrup and milk and continue beating. Continue to add powdered sugar until you reach your desired consistency.

This entry was posted in Cupcakes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

