Raspberry Oatmeal Jam Jam Cookies

In my family, there has always been a long-standing tradition. We aren’t necessarily avid bakery-goers, with the exception of myself, of course. However, Dooher’s Bakery in Ontario, Canada is always a must whenever we’re in the region.

If we could, we would go a few times a week. The pies, tarts, and other pastries do seem to serve us well. But while the pastry and muffin flavors change, there is one treat Dooher’s has to offer that has been a constant for as long as I can remember. Let’s say at least 10 years.

Dooher’s Jam Jam cookies are a simple, yet incredibly delicious, sandwich cookie. By using soft oatmeal cookies and sandwiching them together with a sticky jam filling, Dooher’s has brought me back year after year.

I used to stock up when I visited. I used to ask my Nanny to send me a few bags in the mail. Now, I’ve replicated such a cookie. You can thank me later.

Raspberry Jam Jams

1/2 C Butter

1/2 C White Sugar

1/2 C Brown Sugar

1 Egg

1 Tsp Pure Vanilla Extract

1 C and 2 Tbsp Flour

1/2 Tsp Baking Soda

1/2 Tsp Salt

1 C Oats

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Cream the butter and sugars. Add the egg and extract and beat well. Add flour, salt, and baking soda and beat until a soft dough forms. Stir in the oats. Drop by tablespoons full on to a greased cookie sheet.

Bake for 8-10 minutes until golden brown.

Once cool, top one cookie with a spoonful of raspberry jam, and sandwich another on top.

This entry was posted in Cookies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Raspberry Oatmeal Jam Jam Cookies

  1. Jan says:

    Yum! I have some cherry jam that would be just perfect in these cookies. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

