Coconut Oatmeal Cookies with Fresh Cherries

Summer is officially coming on strong! I often think that Washington is absolutely the last place in the world to receive summer greetings, but that’s just me. I get anxious about it. I don’t necessarily get anxious about the hot sun, but I get anxious about the ability to be outside. Now that summer is upon us, I can wear my Chacko sandals wherever I go. I can walk through water, grass, and adventure into the forest. I can hike to waterfalls, go fishing every weekend, and get my hands dirty. Obviously, I’m an outdoorsy gal.

When I adventure outside, I like to pack a snack. It’s part of that ‘be prepared’ motto I seem to follow so well. I bring cherries everywhere, to the river, to the lake, to the market. Once summer hits, I feel as if I’m never without a bag of them.

I made these cookies to celebrate summer. And I mean seriously celebrate summer. Or, at least my idea of summer. I don’t picture sandy beaches and palm trees when I think of summer. It’s just not my nature. I go for a bag full of cherries, a walk along the river, and a seat in the middle of beautiful rapids.

This cookie recipe uses a basic cookie dough, but kicks it up a notch with the addition of oats, coconut, and fresh cherries. They’re sweet, somewhat tart, and wonderfully beautiful.

Coconut Oatmeal Cookies with Fresh Cherries

1/2 C Butter

1/2 C Brown Sugar

1/2 C White Sugar

1 Egg

1 Tsp Pure Vanilla Extract

1 1/4 C Flour

1/2 Tsp Baking Soda

1/2 Tsp Salt

1 C Oats

1 C Shredded Coconut

15 Ripe Cherries, Pitted and Chopped

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Cream the butter and sugars. Add the egg and extract and beat well. Add flour, salt, and baking soda and beat until a soft dough forms. Stir in the oats and coconut, then stir in the cherries. Drop by tablespoons full on to a greased cookie sheet.

Bake for 13-15 minutes, until golden brown.

This entry was posted in Cookies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Coconut Oatmeal Cookies with Fresh Cherries

  1. Amy says:

    exactly what I was looking for! baking this afternoon. Thank you!

  2. Rose Taylor says:

    What a great looking cookie! I know the cherries go well with coconut and oatmeal. I’m dying to try this out.

  3. Pingback: Cookies for Firefighters: CALL FOR COOKIES | CAKEfyi

Leave a Reply

