Desserts for the Deserving: Sprinkled Vanilla Sandwich Cookies

Recently, I sent these cookies to a deserving family. I sent them in the mail to a family who has been through a great deal of hardship, and I am grateful to have had the opportunity to do so. This gesture was all part of something wonderful called Desserts for the Deserving.

The Desserts for the Deserving initiative was started by Amanda of I am Baker. Its goal is to bring together bloggers and deserving individuals. People who have experienced hardship, or even those that could just use a bit more cheer, were nominated by their friends and loved ones. Each nominee was paired with a volunteer blogger, and I, thankfully, was able to participate out of the 400-something who volunteered.

There’s nothing more rewarding to me than spreading love in the form of baked goods. I just don’t see any other way to do it. How do I make friends? I give out cookies. How do I cheer up someone’s day? I bake them cupcakes. I suppose the habit might come with the territory of being a baker, but in this case,  I put it to good use.

I sent these sprinkled sandwich cookies to a family of four. I wanted to send them something fun, but not over the top. Their story is heart-wrenching, and I certainly didn’t want to overstep any boundaries.

These cookies are made with a simple vanilla cookie with vanilla buttercream icing sandwiched in the middle. I rolled the edges in sprinkles to add a bit of cheer. Do you spread the love with cookies?

Sprinkled Vanilla Sandwich Cookies

1/2 C Butter

1/2 C Brown Sugar

1/2 C White Sugar

1 Egg

1 Tsp Pure Vanilla Extract

1 1/2 C Flour

1/2 Tsp Baking Soda

1/4 Tsp Salt

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Cream the butter and sugars. Add the egg and vanilla extract and beat well. Add flour, salt, and baking soda and beat until a soft dough forms. Drop by tablespoons full on to a greased cookie sheet.

Bake for 8-10 minutes until golden brown.

Once cool, top one cookie with a spoonful of Vanilla Buttercream Icing, and sandwich another on top. Push the cookies together so that the icing shows along the edges. Pour your favorite sprinkles on to a plate. Roll the edges of each cookie in the sprinkles.

Basic Vanilla Buttercream Icing

1/2 C Butter

1 1/2-2 Cups Powdered Sugar

1 Tsp Pure Vanilla Extract

1 Tbsp Milk

Beat the butter and a 1/2 cup of the powdered sugar. Add the  vanillaextract and milk and continue beating. Continue to add powdered sugar until you reach your desired consistency.

This entry was posted in Cookies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Desserts for the Deserving: Sprinkled Vanilla Sandwich Cookies

  1. What a nice gesture, and a great cause. I loved sprinkle cookie as a kid and they always cheered me up.

  2. Ruth says:

    I received my cheerful cookies in the mail today among sympathy cards. When my sons wake up from another nap without their darling sister here they will find these thoughtful cookies. Thank you for the encouragement as we mourn the loss of our beautiful baby doll Mia.

  3. Jen says:

    Simple and yet so awesome! I would love to see something as lovely as this in my mailbox.

  4. Pingback: Desserts for the Deserving: Operation Cookie | The Baked Equation

  5. krysten says:

    Yum these look absolutely delish!

  6. Can’t wait to try making these!!

Leave a Reply

