Guest Post: Orange Covered Chocolate Cupcakes with Salted Orange Cream by Whirl and Whisk

I’m excited to have Shay of Whirl and Whisk guest posting for me today! I’m pretty darn eager to make this recipe, and I’m sure you will be too. Head over to her blog to check out some of the other tasty things she has made such as Chocolate Cheesecake Waffle Pie and Banana Pudding Ice Cream Cupcakes. Like, whoa!

There are those days when you wake up way too early and have nothing to do but stare at the ceiling and get lost deep in thought. If you are a dessert blogger, those thoughts usually lead to sweets.

When I came up with this recipe, it was one of those mornings. I was laying in bed thinking about the Orange Crush dessert topping syrup I had purchased for no reason in particular. I was also thinking about this guest post and what amazingness I could pull out of my hat!

What could I use this dessert topping for? I decided to get up and figure it out. I began experimenting and thought a salted orange cream sounded delightful, so I whipped it up.

Now, what could I put this on? Then I had an epiphany…chocolate. Orange and chocolate are a classic combination!

I got back to work and mixed up my favorite chocolate cake batter.

I pulled out the cupcake liners and had yet another epiphany…oranges. I peeked in the fridge and found a few oranges then sliced them in half and scooped out the middle, leaving just the peel. Then I placed those in cupcake liners on a cookies sheet and filled them half way with cake batter.

What to do with all that orange? Orange juice! When I bake, I like to use as many ingredients in different ways as I can. These came out great! Baking the cake right in the orange rind sort of infuses it with a light orangey flavor, plus it’s super cute. Here’s the recipe:

Orange Covered Chocolate Cupcakes with Salted Orange Cream

Prep Time: 45 minutes
Bake Time: 20 minutes
Yields: 24 cupcakes
Salted Orange Cream
Ingredients:
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup cream cheese, softened
2 cups confectioners sugar
1/4 cup Orange Crush Dessert Topping
Directions:
  1. Mix salt and cream cheese together until smooth, then add sifted sugar a little at a time
  2. Add dessert topping until mixed well
  3. Place in an air tight container in the fridge

Shay’s Chocolate Orange Cupcakes
Ingredients:
14 oz can sweetened condensed milk
4 eggs
1 cup flour
1/4 unsweetened cocoa
1/2 tbsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup unsalted butter
12 Valencia oranges
Directions:
  1. Preheat the oven to 350°
  2. Cut tops of oranges off and cut a small part of the bottom off so that they stand on their own. With a melon baller, scoop out the fruit inside (save to make OJ later!). Set inside cupcake liners, place on a cookie sheet, and set aside
  3. Cream sugar and butter in your mixer until creamy
  4. Add in all wet ingredients, then slowly add dry (sift flour first)
  5. Fill empty orange peels 2/3 with cake batter and bake for 20 minutes
  6. Let cool for 30 minutes to an hour before frosting

How gorgeous are these? They would be perfect on a dessert table! Now go make that fresh orange juice and enjoy the prettiest cupcake ever! {For breakfast, like I did. No shame in my game!}

This entry was posted in Cupcakes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Guest Post: Orange Covered Chocolate Cupcakes with Salted Orange Cream by Whirl and Whisk

  1. Thanks for having me Molly!

  2. Love that two of my favorite bloggers are sharing the blogging love with each other and I love the orange and chocolate combination! I believe that “Crusader” Jenn over at our blog is going to be writing up a recipe review for an orange chocolate cupcake she made in the next week or so. (It may also be a review on a modifying a box mix, I’m not sure becuase I didn’t get a chance to sample them). I don’t think she did anything near as cool as baking them inside of an orange though… It looks wonderful!

    • CAKEfyi says:

      Thanks so much Stacy! Love you guys too! Maybe you’d like to do a guest post some time? 🙂

      • Of course! Just let us know when! “Crusader” Elisa always bakes from scratch and does fillings for her cupcakes, so she might be the better one of the group for your blog. I normally modify a box mix (I know… I know…). 😉 I’ll chat with her and see if she would be up for it. Is there anything in particular you would be interested in? If you ever want to do a guest review for us, we’d love it too! You could bake or tell us about a cupcake adventure you went on. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Orange Covered Chocolate Cupcakes with Salted Orange Cream « The Cupcake Blog

  4. Pingback: Orange Covered Chocolate Cupcakes with Salted Orange Cream | The art of cupcake

Leave a Reply

