Reese’s Chocolate-Peanut Butter Swirl Cupcakes

I don’t know about you, but when I was a young girl, I always knew which houses to go to on Halloween night. I liked to think of myself as the trick-or-treating queen. I knew which houses would hand out the full cans of soda, the handfuls of Laffy Taffy, and, my favorite, the full-sized chocolate bars. I must have been a no-nonsense candy-loving child. Fun-sized Hershey’s bars just didn’t cut it for me.

Now, quite a bit older and wiser, I suppose, I wish I could be that house. Someday I will. I will pass out cupcakes, full cans of soda, and handfuls of full-sized chocolate bars. All of the dentists in town will hate (or love) me, and the kids will know that my house is the place to go! And that’s what really matters.

It seems that as I grow older, the excitement of trick-or-treating on Halloween dies. Kids just don’t do it much these days, or maybe it’s just the town I live in. I think you should. Take your kids door to door, because when they get older, they will have these wonderful memories, and that will be worth it all.

These cupcakes celebrate my fond Halloween memories. They start with a peanut butter cupcake, and then they’re topped with swirled peanut butter and chocolate icing and a piece of a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup. The perfect cupcake to celebrate!

Reese’s Chocolate-Peanut Butter Swirl Cupcakes

1/2 C Butter

1 1/4 C Sugar

1/2 C Creamy Peanut Butter

2 Eggs

2 Tsp Pure Vanilla Extract

1 1/4 C Flour

1 3/4 Tsp Baking Powder

1/4 Tsp Salt

3/4 C Milk

Chopped Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups for topping

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Cream the butter and sugar until fluffy. Beat in peanut butter. Beat in eggs one at a time, then add the vanilla and mix well. In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and salt. Add a third of the flour mixture to the butter mixture and beat until incorporated. Add half of milk and mix well. Add another third of the flour, mix, then add the remaining milk. Add the remaining flour and continue beating until well mixed.

Using a measuring cup, pour batter into a lined or greased cupcake pan.

Bake for 16-18 minutes until golden.

Once cooled, top with peanut butter and chocolate swirled icing.

Peanut Butter and Chocolate Swirled Icing

Peanut Butter Icing:

1/2 C Butter

2 1/2-3 C Powdered Sugar

1 Tbsp Milk

1/2 C Peanut Butter, or more to taste

Cream the butter, then add half of the powdered sugar. Add the milk and continue to beat. Continue to add powdered sugar until you reach your desired consistency. Beat in the peanut butter.

Add half of the peanut butter icing to a separate bowl. Add 2 TBSP Cocoa to the other half and beat well. Add icing to piping bag, alternating peanut butter and chocolate icing. Pipe onto cooled cupcakes.

Add Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup pieces on top.

This entry was posted in Cupcakes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reese’s Chocolate-Peanut Butter Swirl Cupcakes

  1. marissa says:

    thanks for posting the recepi. i love it. i’ll try to make it. so yummy. More power

Leave a Reply

