Sweet Potato Casserole + A Country Crock Thanksgiving Giveaway! (GIVEAWAY CLOSED)

Thank you to Country Crock for sponsoring this post. Visit and tell us your favorite Thanksgiving veggie for extra entries into this giveaway. I was selected for this opportunity as a member of Clever Girls Collective.

NOTE: This giveaway is now closed. Please check your email to see if you’re the winner! Thank you to all who entered.

For some families, it seems Thanksgiving can become a time of quarrel. Whose house will we go to? What will be on the menu? Who will carve the turkey?

This year, I don’t want you to have to choose. I want you to have the best possible holiday, and I think this recipe will make that very simple.

Have you ever heard this saying? “Vegetables are a must on a diet. I suggest carrot cake, zuchhini bread, and pumpkin pie.” Jim Davis had some real merit with this saying. Why not have vegetables for dessert, or, if you’re daring,serve dessert as your vegetables. With Country Crock, it’s easy to transform a vegetable side dish into a healthy, delicious, and dessert-like treat.

This recipe serves as a vegetable side dish, as well as a sweet dessert. I wouldn’t have it any other way. It’s made with sweet potatoes, Original Country Crock, brown sugar, and all of the sweet spices of fall. I included apples and marshmallows as well, offering you even more sweetness to add to your sweet potato vegetable.

To make your Thanksgiving even better, Country Crock is offering one lucky CAKEfyi reader this fantastic Thanksgiving kit to cook and bake your favorites and to spruce up your table. One winner will receive these cute Harvest Pumpkin Tiny Taper Holders from Williams-Sonoma and Sur La Table’s Italian Scalloped Bakers and Wire Baker Racks.

TO ENTER:

Note: You do not have to do all of the following to enter. Each entry increases your chance of winning.

-Leave a comment on this post telling me your favorite Thanksgiving dessert.

-Visit Country Crock and leave a comment on this post telling me your favorite article on the site.

Like CAKEfyi on Facebook*

Follow CAKEfyi on Twitter*

Follow CAKEfyi on Pinterest*

*Please add an additional comment after you have liked CAKEfyi on Facebook, followed CAKEfyi on Twitter, and followed CAKEfyi on Pinterest. Each comment below with serve as a separate entry to the contest. One winner will be chosen via Random.org on Thursday, November 8th.

Sweet Potato Casserole

6-8 C Water

4 Large Sweet Potatos, cut into cubes (3 1/2 Cups)

1/4 C Original Country Crock

1/2 C Brown Sugar

1 Tsp Cinnamon

1/2 Tsp Pumpkin Spice

Dash of Nutmeg

1 Apple, thinly sliced

1/2 C Mini Marshmallows

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a large pot, bring water to a rolling boil. Add sweet potatoes, cover, and cook for 10 minutes until tender.

Once cooked, drain potatoes well and pour into heat-safe bowl, preferably that of a stand mixer. Turn mixer on low and mash potatoes. Add Country Crock, brown sugar, cinnamon, pumpkin spice, and nutmeg and continuing mashing.

Once creamy, spread mixture into baking dish. Press apple slices into the mixture and sprinkle with more brown sugar, if desired. Bake for 15 minutes.

Remove dish from oven, sprinkle with marshmallows, then return to oven. Broil for 1-2 minutes–marshmallows will brown quickly!

For more Thanksgiving side dishes, visit Country Crock.

Thank you to Country Crock for being a sponsor. I was selected for this opportunity as a member of Clever Girls Collective. All opinions expressed here are my own.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Sweet Potato Casserole + A Country Crock Thanksgiving Giveaway! (GIVEAWAY CLOSED)

  1. Sara says:

    Always looked forward to Chocolate cream pie as a favorite on Thanksgiving….this year would like to try it made with a dash of pumpkin pie spice to liven it up! Thanks for posting your recipes!

  2. spiffycookie says:

    My favorite thanksgiving dessert is pumpkin pie

  3. spiffycookie says:

    I like you on Facebook

  4. spiffycookie says:

    I follow you on Twitter

  5. spiffycookie says:

    I follow you on Pinterst

  6. nannypanpan01 says:

    carrotcake or cheesecake
    nannypanpan@gmail.com

  7. nannypanpan01 says:

    i like thanksgiving sides that steaL THE SHOW ARTICLE
    NANNYPANPAN@GMAIL.COM

  8. Julie says:

    Welcome-Home Snack Bar like this on their site

  9. Julie says:

    my favorite dessert is apple pie

  10. Julie says:

    like u on fb Julie A Scott Laws

  11. Julie says:

    follow u on pinterest 321gem

  12. Brauergirl says:

    My family loves pumpkin pie with homemade, fresh whipped cream!

  13. Debra Lee says:

    I love my Pumpkin Pie!

  14. Debra Lee says:

    I like Country Crock’s Lunch Remix, Great recipies too!

  15. Debra Lee says:

    I like you on Facebook!

  16. Debra Lee says:

    I follow you on Twitter @Distracteddebra

  17. Debra Lee says:

    I follow on Pinterest under Needle d

  18. kismetchris says:

    My favorite is homemade Pecan Pie.

  19. kismetchris says:

    I like you on Facebook. Deb Christie
    kismetchris(at)gmail(dot)com

  20. kismetchris says:

    I follow you on Pinterest.

  21. kismetchris says:

    My favorite article is Preparing a Pizza Flag.

  22. Kelly D says:

    I Love Pumpkin Pie.

  23. Kelly D says:

    My favorite article is the Veggie-licious Snacks

  24. Kelly D says:

    I Follow CAKEfyi on Twitter(kellysaver)

  25. Kelly D says:

    I Follow CAKEfyi on Pinterest(Kelly Saver)

  26. Emmy says:

    I follow CAKEfyi on pinterest AND on facebook 🙂 My favorite Thanksgiving dessert is by far pumpkin pie! Which sounds quite delicious right now….

  27. Kathy S says:

    Pistachio Torte

  28. D Allen says:

    Pumpkin pie with fresh whipped cream for me!

  29. Hezzi-D says:

    I love pumpkin pie!

  30. Lia Simpson says:

    Homemade pumpkin pie with lots of ginger

  31. Pumpkin pie with extra ginger in the mix.

  32. Autumn Aromas and Delicious Recipes is my favorite article

  33. I follow CAKEfyi on twitter @liasim

  34. Tracy says:

    Pumpkin pie, no contest.

  35. Tracy says:

    Saladgoddess now following you on Twitter.

  36. I totally want to make a pumpkin pie cheesecake! My new favorite!

Leave a Reply

