It’s my birthday, and I’m eating Chocolate-Vanilla Marble Cake

Alright, it’s time to get serious. This girl is growing up! Sure, this entire post is going to sound incredibly egotistical, but today, that’s just fine.

Today is my favorite day of the year, and it always has been. It’s always been the sweetest day of the year, for me, by a long shot. There’s always wonderful food, great people, and a whole lot of cake. I do write a baking blog after all, so that last part is inevitable.

As far back as I can remember, I have had a countdown going for my birthday. Every year I would tell my mom 66 days! 34 days! 16 days! One week! and so on…

Well mom, today is the day. Today your little girl who screamed and jumped about birthday cake every year is turning 21. She is graduating from university in four weeks, and well, she is just plain growing up. And as thrilled as I am to grow up, it is terrifying to realize that I am graduating university only four weeks after my 21st birthday. What happened to the idea of being a super senior and not graduating until you’re 27? I suppose that was never my thing.

This year, I’m jumping into new adventures and crazy scary things, and I thank goodness that I have such incredible parents to support me. I have been taught to grow into a strong and incredibly determined woman, and I have been supported for all that I have done. And I think that’s just great!

Feel free to celebrate with me!

This cake is the best of all worlds, in my opinion anyway. It swirls chocolate and vanilla cake batter to create the perfect balance of flavor. I layered and topped it with my favorite basic vanilla buttercream icing and added a few pieces of candy on top. Feel free to do the same.

Chocolate-Vanilla Marble Cake

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees

Chocolate Cake Batter:

1/4 C White Sugar

1/2 C Brown Sugar

3/4 C + 2 TBSP Flour

1/4 C +2 TBSP Cocoa Powder

3/4 Tsp Baking Powder

3/4 Tsp Baking Soda

1/4 Tsp Salt

1 Egg

1/2 C Milk

1/4 C Canola Oil

1 Tsp Pure Vanilla Extract

1/2 Cup Water, Boiling

Mix all dry ingredients together. Add egg, milk, oil, and vanilla and beat well. Pour in boiling water, and stir the batter slowly until combined. Set aside.

Vanilla Cake Batter:

1/2 C Butter

1 1/4 C Sugar

2 Eggs

3 Tsp Pure Vanilla Extract

1 1/4 C Flour

1 3/4 Tsp Baking Powder

1/4 Tsp Salt

3/4 C Milk

Cream the butter and sugar until fluffy. Beat in eggs one at a time, then add the vanilla and mix well. In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and salt. Add a third of the flour mixture to the butter mixture and beat until incorporated. Add half of milk and mix well. Add another third of the flour, mix, then add the remaining milk. Add the remaining flour and continue beating until well mixed.

Once batters are complete, pour into greased 9-inch round cake pans, alternating between chocolate and vanilla. Give the batter a bit of a swirl with a toothpick if you’d like.

Bake for 20-22 minutes until golden around the edges.

Once cakes have cooled, ice with Basic Vanilla Buttercream Icing or another favorite icing.

Basic Vanilla Buttercream Icing

1 C Butter

4-4 1/2 Cups Powdered Sugar

2 Tsp Pure Vanilla Extract

2 Tbsp Milk

Beat the butter and 1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar. Add the extract and milk and continue beating. Continue to add powdered sugar until you reach your desired consistency.

This entry was posted in Cake, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

